Our Board

Operating in the not-for-profit sector, Sacred Heart Mission benefits greatly from the years of knowledge and expertise of our Board, who help us maintain a robust and effective approach to tackle homelessness and disadvantage.

Chris Stoltz, Chair Meet our Board Chairman, Chris Stoltz

Board Member since 2018

Chris is a graduate in Civil Engineering and a Fellow of Engineers Australia, the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and the Australian Institute of Management. He has been a successful senior manager, CEO and chair of several not-for-profit and private companies, including Boys Town, Sunraysia Rural Water Authority, Royal Flying Doctor Service, Bendigo Hospital and the Victorian Division of Engineers Australia. He has broad industry experience in engineering, IT, water utilities, agribusiness, manufacturing, not-for-profit organisations and regional development, and is the 2012 Sir John Holland Civil Engineer of the Year.


Board member, Dave O'brien

David O’Brien, Treasurer

Board Member since 2001

David is a certified practising accountant with a Bachelor of Business degree. Having held senior positions in the telecommunications and banking sectors over more than 30 years, he has extensive experience in financial, commercial, contract, risk and project management. David is currently developing and building a new online business.



Carolyn Clark, Company Secretary carolyn clark

Board member since 2009

Carolyn has a Masters of Laws following her Bachelor of Laws (Hons) and Arts and has worked for nine years as a solicitor and senior associate at Mallesons Stephen Jaques. She has also worked for the Australian Securities Commission and at Telstra as corporate legal counsel and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. In 2004 Carolyn joined the Mission’s Women4Women Committee, which is dedicated to providing financial support to the Women’s House. She has been the chairperson of the committee since 2007 and volunteers regularly at the Women’s House.

Rosemary Southgate rosemary southgate

Board member since 2017

Rosemary is a Law Institute of Victoria accredited specialist in property law. She is focused on delivering quality advice to her clients, practicing in the areas of commercial property, leasing, aged care and retirement villages. As part of her role she advises peak industry bodies such as the Property Council Australia in their dealings with government. Rosemary was named Best Lawyers' 2014 Melbourne Retirement Villages and Senior Living Law "Lawyer of the Year" and recognised in 2012 - 2018 for expertise in this sector. Rosemary is Deputy Chair and Board Member at Russell Kennedy Lawyers. Rosemary is also a committee member of the Property Council of Australia - Retirement Living.

Fr John Petrulis fr john

Board member since 2007

Fr John became parish priest in 2007 and has been a priest of the Archdiocese of Melbourne for the past 31 years. In that time he has ministered in a variety of parishes including Sunbury, Ferntree Gully, Heidelberg, East Bentleigh and Boronia, where he was parish priest for 10 years. Over the journey of his appointments, John has been involved as a hospital chaplain and has pursued further study in the area of spirituality.



Greg Evans greg evans

Board Member since 2015

Greg is principal of Hypatia, a management consultancy, and has worked extensively in leadership development and organisational change in the private and public sectors, including aged care and mental health. Prior to establishing his business in 2001, Greg held leadership roles with Telstra and the ANZ Group. Greg’s qualifications include a MBA from Melbourne Business School and a Bachelor of Arts with Honours.



John Bennetts john bennetts

Board Member since 2016 

John is a director, founder and owner of a range of businesses across a variety of industries including biotechnology, financial services and manufacturing. He is a director and member of the Audit Committee of ASX listed McMillan Shakespeare and was a founder and director of Australian biotechnology company Cellestis Ltd, which has lead the world in improving the diagnosis and treatment for tuberculosis. He is also a co-founder and director of Culture is Life, which is seeking to help address mental health issues in indigenous communities. Prior to moving into business John practiced as a commercial solicitor.


David Bradley david obrien

Board Member since 2017 

David has held senior management roles in marketing and strategy for over 20 years at ANZ Bank, Australian Unity and CGU Insurance, and prior to that a range of senior roles with Australia Post. He started his career in information technology. He also established and managed CGU Insurance’s charitable foundation. David’s qualifications include a Master of Administration and a Bachelor of Science with Honours.


Derek Young AM

Derek Young AM

Board Member since 2018

Derek is currently the Chair of the Robert Rose Foundation and the Orcadia Foundation and a member of the Major Performing Arts Panel of the Australia Council for the Arts. Derek is also an Adjunct Professor in RMIT’s School of Accounting and a member of the Advisory Board of the College of Business. Derek was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to the community through contributions to the performing arts, higher education and philanthropy. Derek is a Certified Practicing Accountant, Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (UK) and a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Marcelle Mogg

Board Member since 2018

Marcelle has over 25 years’ experience with Catholic agencies in health and community services settings, and communications. Undertaking several national senior leadership roles, Marcelle previously served as CEO Catholic Social Services Australia before joining St John of God Health Care as Group Director Mission Integration in 2016. Marcelle holds qualifications in Nursing, Theology and a MBA from Melbourne Business School.

Rebecca Hodges

Rebecca Hodges

Board Member since 2019

Rebecca became Executive Director of People and Culture at Ambulance Victoria in June 2015. She leads AV’s People function that focuses on supporting a paramedic workforce to deliver exceptional care to the community. Prior to her role at AV she held the position of General Manager People and Culture at Wesley Mission Victoria. Rebecca has also held senior leadership roles with Victoria Police spanning a seven year period that focused on people, safety and organisational transformational change projects. Rebecca has a Masters of Commerce (HR) from Swinburne University of Technology and a member of various professional and academic bodies.

0125,929Meals served through our meals program over the last year
096,000Hours contributed by our volunteers over the last year
07,012Responses at our Women’s House over the last year
Sacred Heart Mission respectfully acknowledges the traditional custodians of the land on which we operate our services. We pay our respects to the ongoing living cultures of Aboriginal peoples, and to Elders past, present and future.
Make a donation